Press Release December 04, 2017

Goodwin Announces Winners of Inaugural Diversity Fellowship Scholarship Awards

Goodwin today announced the winners of the inaugural Diversity Fellowship Scholarship Awards named in honor of Goodwin lawyers and diversity champions Wayne A. Budd, Marian A. Tse, Richard A. Soden and Paul W. Lee. Designed to increase diversity at Goodwin and in the legal profession, these scholarships, as part of the firm’s overall Diversity Fellowship Program, help law students defray the cost of law school tuition.

The 2017 scholarship recipients are:

  • Arturo Cruz, Boston University School of Law
  • Dennis Craig, Georgetown University Law Center
  • Dylan Lonergan, New York University School of Law
  • Natalie Minois, University of North Carolina School of Law
  • Grace Truong, Harvard Law School

“Wayne Budd, Marian Tse, Richard Soden and Paul Lee are diversity pioneers who have made exemplary contributions to our law firm and the legal community,” said David Hashmall, Goodwin’s Chairman and head of the firm’s Inclusion Advisory Committee. “They are tireless mentors for our young lawyers, as well as our leaders, and are devoted to enhancing the careers of others.”

Cruz and Nieves were also Goodwin 1L Diversity Fellows and received an award of $10,000 to help cover expenses while working in a public interest law position during the summer after their first year of law school. As part of this scholarship program, named in honor of Wayne A. Budd and Marian A. Tse, they will each receive an additional $10,000 toward tuition for their third year of law school.

Craig, Lonergan, Minois and Truong, as winners of the Richard A. Soden and Paul W. Lee scholarships, will each receive a $15,000 award to offset the expenses of their legal education.

Each scholarship winner will join Goodwin as a summer associate in 2018, with two joining the firm’s Boston office, two joining in Washington, D.C., and two in New York City.

“We created these scholarships to complement our other diversity-focused recruiting and retention initiatives,” said Sabrina Rose-Smith, Chair of CRED@Goodwin. “These talented students exemplify accomplishment, leadership and dedication, and these awards represent our investment in the future of these young leaders.”

Additional information about Goodwin’s diversity fellowships is available on the firm’s website and via email.