About Us

Our purpose is and always has been to help our clients achieve great things.

Our Story

The Goodwin story began with a chance encounter on a Boston sidewalk. After some friendly conversation, two young lawyers, former classmates from college, decided to start their own law practice.

An eavesdropper on State Street that late spring morning in 1912 might have been amused at their bravado as Robert Eliot Goodwin and Joseph Osborne Procter, Jr. mapped their professional future. But the firm they forged would flourish, setting the foundation of a professional enterprise that would grow beyond anything either might have imagined.

Today, nearly 2,000 Goodwin lawyers focus on building authentic, long-term relationships with our clients, who are some of the world’s most successful and innovative investors, entrepreneurs and disruptors at the convergence of and within the life sciences, private equity, real estate, technology, and financial industries.

Our Global Operations Team (all business professionals) partners with our lawyers and clients across multiple business of law functions, providing for a truly unique and differentiated client service model.

Our immersive understanding of our clients’ industries – combined with our expertise across high-stakes litigation and dispute resolution, world-class regulatory compliance and advisory services, and complex transactions – sets us apart.

Core Principles

Our core principles are our foundation. They ground us and bind us together as a firm. Our commitment to these values is what drives us and what enables our success.

Social Commitment and Corporate Responsibility

We are committed to helping our clients and the communities in which we live and work. We dedicate our talent and resources to meaningful causes and initiatives that reflect our core principles. For us, it is simple. We have a responsibility to make a difference and to help our clients and our communities thrive.

Firm Leadership

The Management Committee directs our day-to-day operations.

Mark Bettencourt
+1 617 570 1091
mbettencourt@goodwinlaw.com

Mike Caplan
+1 212 813 8856
mcaplan@goodwinlaw.com

Lynda Galligan
+1 650 752 3167
lgalligan@goodwinlaw.com

Joanne Gray
+1 212 459 7440
jgray@goodwinlaw.com

Rob Insolia
+1 212 813 8888
rinsolia@goodwinlaw.com

Josh Klatzkin
+1 202 346 4129
jklatzkin@goodwinlaw.com

Practice leaders lead industry and practice groups.

Complex Litigation and Dispute Resolution

Deborah Birnbach
+1 617 570 1339
dbirnbach@goodwinlaw.com

Jim McGarry
+1 617 570 1332
jmcgarry@goodwinlaw.com

Financial Services

Chris Palmer
+1 202 346 4253
cpalmer@goodwinlaw.com

Intellectual Property Litigation

Daryl Wiesen
+1 617 570 1396
dwiesen@goodwinlaw.com

Brett Schuman
+1 415 733 6021
bschuman@goodwinlaw.com

Life Sciences

Mitchell Bloom
+1 617 570 1055
mbloom@goodwinlaw.com

Private Equity

Brian McPeake
+1 415 733 6077
bmcpeake@goodwinlaw.com

Chris Nugent
+1 212 813 8825
cnugent@goodwinlaw.com

Yash Rana
+852 3658 5388
yrana@goodwinlaw.com

John LeClaire
+1 617 570 1144
jleclaire@goodwinlaw.com

Real Estate

Diana Brummer
+1 212 813 8861
dbrummer@goodwinlaw.com

John Ferguson
+1 212 813 8827
jferguson@goodwinlaw.com

Technology

John Egan
+1 617 570 1514
jegan@goodwinlaw.com

Ken Gordon
+1 617 570 1327
kgordon@goodwinlaw.com

Anthony McCusker
+1 650 752 3267
amccusker@goodwinlaw.com

Chief officers lead the Global Operations Team, all of the firm’s business professionals.

Mike Caplan
Chief Operating Officer
+1 212 813 8856
mcaplan@goodwinlaw.com

Bonnie Ciaramella
Chief Practice Management Officer
+1 212 813 8894
bciaramella@goodwinlaw.com

Rachel Dooley
Chief Innovation Officer
+1 212 459 7479
rdooley@goodwinlaw.com

David Fleming
Chief Information Officer
+1 617 570 1985
dfleming@goodwinlaw.com

Bela Grover
Chief Client Relationship Officer
+1 415 733 6019
bgrover@goodwinlaw.com

Scott Kopcha
Chief Information Security Officer
+1 617 570 3988
skopcha@goodwinlaw.com 

Heidi Goldstein Shepherd
Chief Talent Officer and Assistant General Counsel for Employment
+1 617 570 8189
hshepherd@goodwinlaw.com

Konstantin Shishkin
Chief Communications Officer
+1 212 459 7176
kshishkin@goodwinlaw.com