The Mergers + Acquisitions team advised the Special Committee of the Board of Directors of NantKwest (NASDAQ: NK) in the completion of NantKwest’s previously announced 100% stock-for-stock merger with ImmunityBio. This follows the satisfaction of all customary closing conditions, including approval of the merger by a majority of unaffiliated shareholders of NantKwest at its Special Meeting held on March 8, 2021. The combined company will operate under the name ImmunityBio, Inc. and its shares of common stock have commenced trading on NASDAQ under the new ticker “IBRX.”

ImmunityBio is a late-clinical-stage immunotherapy company developing next-generation therapies that drive immunogenic mechanisms for defeating cancers and infectious diseases. The company’s immunotherapy platform activates both the innate (natural killer cell and macrophage) and adaptive (T cell) immune systems to create long-term “immunological memory.”

The Goodwin team was led by Stuart Cable, Lisa Haddad and Lillian Kim with assistance from Tobias Schad, William Stanton, Stephanie Barbanell, Michael Fahner and Stephen Kim and included Robert Crawford, Janet Andolina, Julie Tibbets, Andy Barton, Deborah Birnbach, Koray Bulut, Delphine O'Rourke, Sabrina Poulos, Ai Tajima, Jacqueline Klosek, Jennifer Ford, Patty Shields, Martha Koroshetz, Sarah Stoiber, Nicole Fontes, Kara Kuritz, Garrett Gaughan, Elizabeth Mulkey, Sarah Wicks, Leslie Nash, Katherine Dacey, Autumn Dacey, Simone Otenaike and Yingying Cai.

For additional details on the closing, please read the press release.